Skip to content

RAF Feltwell

October 6, 2011

RAF Feltwell is a very old base in Norfolk. Located in the village of Feltwell it has been in existence since the early 1930′s.

There are many ghost stories circulating around from the base, the most famous being that of a piston bomber landing in the dark and of an airmen wandering a barrack block nicknamed ‘Herbie’

The Bomber is said to be a Lancaster that crashed during World War II after a raid on Germany. Thus said, the base was home to many types and many Wellington bombers crashed around the airfield. A report from one witness reported seeing the ‘Lancaster’ land on the field and taxi to the hangars, he then reported seeing airmen running around the bomber. I am fortunate enough to work on the base and know of strange goings on in the Old Sgts Mess (Where incidently in 1941 a Wellington bomber crashed into it above the ante room on the East side. I hope to get a picture on here!) American Users of the building have consistently reported hearing an air raid siren and hearing people running up and down the corridors but when they look out in the corridors there is no-one to be seen!

The legend of ‘Herbie’ is of an airmen who resided in barrack block in room 110, I have tried for ages to find out which barrack block so I can investigate but sadly cannot (can anyone help?). He is reported to have moved varying items around rooms, adjusted clocks so people were early/late for work and played general tricks on airmen.

In another barrack block near the entrance, which is now used as a school there are reports of strange goings on, items moving and alarms going off for no reason. Security forces have reported seeing glowing red eyes staring at them and dogs refusing to go in there at times. The building does have an eerie feeling, one morning whilst in there on my own I had a horrible sicky feeling and felt like someone was with me.

My favourite place however on Feltwell is Building 17, the Old Officer’s Mess, an absolutely stunning building that is only used by a handful of people nowadays. When you enter the building you get a real sense of stepping back into the 1940′s, the ‘cosy’ bar is incredible with a stunning fireplace, you can just imagine the Bomber Command Pilots sitting there with a beer, celebrating being alive, or drowning the sorrow of a lost friend, It is not eerie at all but feels very welcoming. The ante rooms and dining room are still decorated in typical WWII style and are very grand. The East Wing and rear catering areas however quite bluntly make me feel very, very uneasy. It is hard to describe, My boss feels exactly the same, they told me of a time doing a survey where they felt someone grab thier shoulder, turned to see who it was and there was no-one there. They exited the building at very high speed. There are stories of USAF security personnel doing training in there and having thier pistols taken from thier hands, and then cowering in the corner or running out very quickly. I wander round the catering areas gingerly waiting for something to happen, it hasn’t so far, probably never will, but I won’t walk round the wings on my own. Yup, a wimp. Some people believe that a woman was assaulted in the Officers Mess East Wing and this brings bad energy to spirits. I would love to see what a medium has to say about the building.

Other buildings on the camp are reported to have similar eerie goings on of shadows and people feeling others are present when no one is. There is a story of a ‘faceless’ girl walking the fenceline. The occupants regularly chat of incidents happening when I chat to them. I would love to hear of any stories or accounts from RAF Feltwell.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    January 20, 2012 9:28 pm

    I have recently moved into the new SNCO housing at RAF Feltwell. My house is next to the old Sgts Mess. I have very strange things happen to my clocks, like my bedroom clock changes time regularly, plus I go through batteries and light bulbs like I never have before. I am not necessarily a believer, but do find this very interesting.

  2. Sparky-Paul permalink
    March 16, 2012 5:50 pm

    Interesting, I’ve worked on and off the base as a maintenance engineer for more years than I care to count and know exactly what you mean about the spookiness around the back section of Bld 17. The other one that spooks me is Bld 94, the old mess hall (Now used as dining hall for the school). the disused rear section of this building is extremely spooky, I think much of it has to do with the peeling paint and general hush and dereliction of the rooms in question and perhaps this causes the imagination to invent things, particularly if you’re in there on your own.
    However, my main reason for contacting you is a recent occurrence. Now I’m normally very sceptical about ghosts and the like and believe that there is a logical/rational explanation for all reported paranormal activity. However, I was working in a house in Birdview square recently and experienced something I can not reasonably explain. Whilst working on a staircase light, a childs balloon appeared on the upper landing, hovering about 3 foot off the ground, dangling its ribbon on the ground. the balloon then slowly, and almost deliberately, descended the staircase as if being held by someone/thing invisible, paused briefly beside my step-ladder, then continued to descend the stair into the ground floor lobby, much to my and the occupant’s bemusement. Apparently it had been in their childs bedroom for some time, undisturbed. Bearing in mind it was a cool day, so they had no windows open, it is very unlikely it was caused by draughts/air currents and I’m at a loss to explain how or why it moved in such a manner. The occupant also mentioned to me that they have strange noises, creaking floorboards and the like almost as if someone is walking around upstairs, the guy seemed very level-headed and I’m certain he wasn’t B.S.’ing me! As I said, I’m normally sceptic about these things, but after this experience with the balloon and the way it deliberately descended, I’m beginning to wonder. Has anyone else experienced similar occurrences on this area of base, perhaps someone can shed some light on the occurrence or maybe even set my mind at rest and provide a logical explanation?

  3. May 1, 2012 8:49 pm

    Thats some great posts there. Thank you! I am surprised at BVS being ‘haunted’ they are new houses i believe built on the old bomb dump. I am trying to find more interesting incidents out and would love to hear them! I now know of some interesting stories of building 58 I hope to bring to you soon. I am also working on RAF Cranwell in Lincolnshire – some great stories!

    • Paul sherwood permalink
      June 4, 2013 5:47 pm

      Regarding BVS, there have been houses on there for a while, the first lot went up in the 1970′s, then in the late ’90′s early ’00′s they were demolished and new ones built on their original footprints. so c’mon, we’re itching to hear the stories of Bld 58. I’m not entirely sure which one that is, is it the old red-cross/station hospital building? I’ve worked in there a few times and that place has a certain atmosphere to it, especially the old decontamination block to the rear.

  4. Mina permalink
    August 4, 2012 9:06 pm

    I live close to the Feltwell AFN building. When we moved in over here ( almost a year ago we did not know that this place is Haunted. But my daughter told me one night that when ever she walks passed the long building with the dog that she feels being watched. I felt it a few times but never really thought of anything. A few weeks ago I walked over to the elementary school passed the afn building. I heard a child calling me.It called me with my nick name and asked for my help. I looked around but did not see anybody. there was two man down the street talking to each other but nobody else was there. I went to school. when I came back there was nothing but I felt watched. My daughter had a few things happening to her . Than last night I went with my son for a walk and i felt somebody watching us. There was nobody there. I turned around and I saw somebody there just for a second standing there in a old military uniform. I looked again and it was gone. We walk sometimes later at night with the dogs and we feel watched. We even smell sometimes cigarette smoke and there is never anybody around us. The dogs act sometimes like crazy, barking crawling but never anybody there. Had the same thing going on in our new house. The dogs get sometimes so scared there afraid to go upstairs or downstairs.

  5. Steve permalink
    September 10, 2012 6:23 am

    Back in early 1997, I was visiting a friend in the 48th EMS dorms up at RAF Feltwell. The dorms were seperated into the male side and the female side, and they had a dayroom and adjacent from the dayroom were the male/female restrooms. Since I was visiting my female friend and couldn’t use the female bathrooms on their side, I took a walk down the hallway to the ones across from the dayroom. As I was walking down the hall, there was this young guy, approximately 18-24 yrs of age walking towards me. He was wearing khaki pants and a t-shirt. I said hi to him and he replied back in an English accent “Hello Mate” and walked into the dayroom. I thought it was weird that a Brit was in the dorms, so I decided to follow him. Now mind you, there is only one way in and one way out of this huge open room. I walked in, and there was no one in there. The hair on the back of my neck stood up and a chilling breeze blew past me. I went back and told my friend what had just happened, and she said that she has seen the same guy at all different times of the day and night. I also told my friend who worked as an MOD Police Officer at Lakenheath/Feltwell what I had seen and he said, “Oh, you met Old Herbie, did you?” He then proceeded to tell me that they have has multiple sightings of the same guy all around RAF Feltwell. It was the coolest yet creepiest thing I have ever encountered.

  6. Laura Goodison permalink
    June 3, 2013 11:09 pm

    That is so awesome that you were able to meet Herbie. I have had many encounters with the ghost on Feltwell and I am also living in Birdsview Square. I haven’t seen/heard the ghost in a while, but I used to hear the footsteps at 3am going across my bedroom. It seems that anytime we watch a scary movie or a ghost documentary he pays a visit to the house. One night my husband’s IPOD kept turning on and off sporadically for a few minutes. My husband covered his face and said “This is not happening Laura”. lol

    Another night, my husband and I were walking the dog around the base and decided to bring our camera to investigate. We were taking random pictures to see if we could catch anything weird. We were walking through the elementary school looking for those so called “red eyes”, but saw nothing. Well, there is a wooden cabin located next to it across from the AFN building. My husband took a few pictures close and far away and caught the weirdest image. I thought it could be the light, so i went back the next day and there was nothing in the window to create that kind of illusion. You can clearly see a man with brown hair, his eye sockets with red eyes standing in the window wearing something like a WW2 uniform. It is so creepy, but amazing at the same time!

    Some other things — We have had tupperware from the kitchen fly from the counter and books randomly fall from our bookshelf. The books were pushed in so far and shoved close together and they were falling out of it?! How could you explain that. My husband said that a plate even flew off the oven that night also. He has also woken me up in the morning saying my name very loud in my ear and i heard him walk by my bed. It sounded like an 18 year old boy honestly. I think he was letting me know that my daughter had just woken up.

    One night I think the ghost changed my alarm clock. My husband woke me up asking me if i had turned on the lights downstairs, because he had just turned them all off and went to the toilet. I looked at him crazy since the clock said 6am and said no honey and went back to bed. I woke up two hours later and the clock said 630 again. I woke up my husband and asked him for the time and he said it was around that time so did the ghost change it in my sleep? My husband also said that the clock did say 6am when he woke me but thought nothing of it.

    A few months later, we heard a man talking outside one night at 4am as well. He was saying something and he walked by our door– you could hear the footsteps. He then walked by again. I ran out to see who it was and there was no one on either side of the road and no doors had been closed. So creepy, but so incredible at the same time to witness all of these events. If you want a picture of the man in the window, email me and let me know.

    • July 21, 2013 6:22 pm

      I would love to have a copy of that picture, I work on RAF Feltwell near Bldg 17.

    • Chris permalink
      February 9, 2014 10:56 pm

      Would love a Pic! Thanks, my son attends this school and I still live on Feltwell. Still have strange occurrences, particularlly with clocks and my wife has seen mysterious puddles of water in the house where there is no possible way for water to just appear

  7. Lisa Dominguez permalink
    June 10, 2013 5:17 am

    I lived in Feltwell as a child, from 1973-1976. We lived on Birdsview Square. I loved the old base, and my friends and I loved to hear about the ghosts. At the time I remember hearing about Feltwell Freddy, but no one is mentioning him here. I believe I remember hearing about Herbie, also.
    When I was about 12 years old, I was in bed and heard the rain pounding against my window. I have always loved the rain. I jumped out of my bed and ran to the window, only to find a clear night, without a hint of rain. I thought that weird, and went back to bed, only to hear it again…pounding against my window! When I checked once more, there was nothing. It was then that I called for my parents. They came to my room, and there was silence. They tried telling me it was a dream, I was imagining things, insisted I go back to sleep. Once they left the room…it happened again. Pouring rain against my window! I screamed this time, for help and Dad came to check on me, once again there was silence. This happened everyday for several weeks. I am not even sure when the noises stopped. I was terrified to go to bed, afraid of the phantom rain. My parents were sure that I was imaging things, but I swear to this day…I heard unexplainable noises!

  8. darryl walker permalink
    October 18, 2013 2:10 pm

    I lived there at 11 Stirling Road from 82-86 and attended Feltwell Elementary as well as Lakenheath Middle School. We had the same cafeteria (mess hall) all 4 years. Both sides of the building were used, but the stairwell was STRICTLY off-limits. Several times, we snuck halfway up, but ran back down when we heard moaning up there. Don’t remember which building number it was, though years later I heard it was used as a morgue during WWII. ALSO if anyone still resides there, I would love to see some pictures of my old house / neighborhood … THANKS!!

  9. John Alexander permalink
    May 8, 2014 2:59 pm

    I lived on BirdView Square for a few years in the late 70′s. I think my address may have been 105 but Im not sure of that. In any event, my small children were always seeing a man upstairs in their bedroom. They werent afraid of him and said he was nice, but I always wondered about that…I had read of plane crashes there during the war and stories of hauntings,…

  10. Chris standage permalink
    June 14, 2014 6:35 am

    Does anyone know of what happened at building 17? I have done two official (I didn’t break in) ghost hunts there. The EVP’s are always awesome but I’m lost on the history. I know from my EVP’s that many were pilots who crashed, one guy died of illness and their are a couple women. This is the bit that confuses me, these were single officer quarters, why are their women? Regardless, Building 17 is very haunted. You are welcome to check out my youtube channel just type in cstandage. I’ll be posting my second building 17 investigation soon.

  11. Michael Wykes permalink
    November 17, 2014 6:56 pm

    Great website. Good to know i’m not the only one who thinks bldg. 17 is haunted. I actually work in bldg. 17 (i’m an AFN member) and i can testify to not only hearing voices but seeing “shapes” in my peripheral vision as i turn corners. We frequently explore the bldg. and none of us will walk it alone. Our mx tech has to do a legionella flush every week in all the sinks and he hates going upstairs alone, says he just gets this feeling like he isn’t alone. We are planning a sleepover in the bldg. for sometime soon to see if we can last the whole night. Will touch back here if we run out crying!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

